top of page

Not Far Away

I woke this morning

Such pain in my heart,

Not sure what to do

A desire to depart.

To leave this old world

And run home to the One,

Run home to the Father

Run home to the Son.

My soul is assaulted

It seems with each day,

Father how can I do this?

I don’t want to stay.

Yet I know I must do it

Until all is done here,

One more day, one more week

A month, or a year.

Oh Lord, how long

Must I love from afar?

How I long to be with You

Yes, right where You are.

Then continue to walk child

I am always so near,

To the one who cries out

To the one I hold dear.

I’m not over there

In some distant land,

I sit right beside you

Can you feel my hand?

It comes in the sweet

Prayer of your friend,

It comes in the song

Of the bird I did send.

It comes in the rain

That replenishes soil,

It comes in the work

Over which you do toil.

It comes in the sun

That warms your sweet face,

In comes when you walk

In the will of My pace.

Do not run ahead

And do not lag behind,

Do not focus your life

On this old daily grind.

I left you with peace

And give you My love,

Yet you look in the distance

You look far above.

Don’t you see Me each day

As I am revealed?

The breath in your body

The pain that is healed.

I’m not far away

In some distant land,

I sit right beside you

I’m holding your hand.

Will you listen to them

Or will you seek my face?

Will you stop so you’ll hear?

It’s always your choice.

I’m not far away

In some distant land,

I sit right beside you

I’m holding your hand.

bottom of page