top of page

Life the Hard Way

When you come to the exit out of my neighborhood there are two different roads you can take. I sat at a fork in the road one morning on the way to work just thinking and finally asked, "What is it Lord God, that You want me to see?"

My husband and I live out of town a ways, in more of a rural setting. Both of the roads are beautiful paths to travel. Both roads will eventually get me out to the main road. One road is a little more direct. The other just takes a little longer and has more curves and stops. Sometimes I feel this is the way I have chosen for life too. My youngest son seems to be the same as his Momma. We're going to get there by the grace of God, but we always seem to choose the hard route. The one with more twists and turns. I used to envy those who can take the shorter, less painful path. Until this morning anyway.

I've learned many great lessons by doing it the harder way. I believe the lesson God has for me in this, is that one way isn't wrong and the other right. They can both get me to the same place. The shorter path doesn't mean that the one traveling on it is more highly favored by God. It's just about different experiences and different knowledge that can be shared. And I suppose there is victory in that if I can share my experiences with others with humility, vulnerability and a willingness to be transparent and real.

Whether your life seems to be a straight shot or the road with many twists and turns, as long as you're traveling with God and you have committed to His purpose, be assured of this; whatever the path and whatever the destination, you will be fully and divinely equipped!

Prayer: Lord God, lead on! And as I travel with You... may the song in my heart always be, "Wherever You lead, I will follow!" Amen!

bottom of page